The running of the Downtown Market is the result of incredible teamwork. Here’s the team behind the work.

Mimi Fritz

President/CEO

Mimi has spent the past ten years designing strong urban places for communities of people to live and have fun. As president and CEO of the Downtown Market, she is focused on creating a healthier food system that connects farmers, chefs, and consumers.

mimi@downtownmarketgr.com

Mary Gunther

Director of Human Resources & Operations

Mary has a passion for moving organizations and people forward!  Mary leads efforts to build human resource processes, procedures, and programs with the goal of making the Downtown Market an innovative, forward-thinking organization - and one of the best places to work for in Grand Rapids!

mary@downtownmarketgr.com

Amanda Gielczyk

Director of Marketing & Special Events

Amanda brings over ten years of retail marketing experience. She is a forward-thinking and results-oriented manager, with demonstrated expertise in event planning and media buying!

amanda@downtownmarketgr.com

Kate Klemp

Director of Development & Community Relations

Kate brings people together. She finds mission-minded people, corporations, foundations and partners, and helps them make an impact for the future of West Michigan. Working with donors to the Downtown Market Education Foundation, her passion for sustainable living and healthy eating ignites long-term relationships that that would make Match.com jealous!

kate@downtownmarketgr.com

Carrie Zandbergen

Director of Sales & Events

Carrie is helping to turn the Market into THE destination for magical events in downtown Grand Rapids. She oversees the private event staff, and is the person to talk to if you’re looking for a venue that your guests will never forget.

carrie@downtownmarketgr.com

Whitney Lubbers

Incubator Kitchen Program Manager

Managing the Market’s Incubator Kitchen is no easy task. Growing up on the family dairy farm has made her resourceful and extremely motivated, with a passion for good food!

whitney@downtownmarketgr.com

Ryan Brinkerhoff

Creative Manager

Ryan is about as creative as they come. With a strong focus on design, he leads the Market’s branding and visual communication through careful art direction and execution.

ryan@downtownmarketgr.com

Cait Fritz

Operations Manager

Cait’s efforts span multiple facets of the Market, office operations, technology, book keeping and so much more.

cait@downtownmarketgr.com

Josh Usadel

Greenhouse Manager

Josh is an expert when it comes to flora. He maintains the greenhouse with a nurturing eye, making sure our little ecosystem on the roof is thriving.

greenhouse@downtownmarketgr.com

Emily Fitton

Sales & Events Assistant

As an expert in Hospitality, Emily loves making people happy and creating memorable experiences. She is an enthusiastic member of the Private Rentals Department, and she can’t wait to help you plan your next event!

emily@downtownmarketgr.com

Kelsey Harvey

Office Manager

Kelsey is indispensable when it comes to keeping the Admin Office running smoothly. Her attention to detail is only matched by her positive attitude!

kelsey@downtownmarketgr.com

Cameron Cramer

Administrative Coordinator

Cameron is here to assist Market guests with anything they may need during their visit. He is knowledgeable, cheerful, and happy to help!

cameron@downtownmarketgr.com

Shanna Massey

Administrative Coordinator

If you are in need of some Market information, then Shanna is the Admin Coordinator for you! She’s here to help Market guests with whatever they may need!

shanna@downtownmarketgr.com

Brett Dumond

Administrative Coordinator

Brett is quick to assist guests and staff, balancing guest service and office projects with ease, all with a big smile!

brett@downtownmarketgr.com

Katie Clark

Beverage Manager

Katie handles beverage services and staffing for all Market private events. She is in charge of making sure your event’s bar is well staffed and your guests are well served!

katie@downtownmarketgr.com

Stacia Barczak

Foundation Administrative Assistant

With a background in higher education, Stacia brings a lot to the table in the Teaching Kitchen. Did we mention she has a passion for sustainable and organic processes? What a great combo!


stacia@downtownmarketgr.com

Jacob Bandstra

Chef Instructor

With over 15 years of culinary experience, Chef Jacob teaches Market culinary classes, develops recipes and designs menus, and shares his knowledge through cooking demonstrations.

jacob@downtownmarketgr.com

Brian Burch

Public Relations

Brian is a communications professional with more than 12 years of experience working with some of the Midwest’s biggest ideas, including ArtPrize, Start Garden, the Grand Rapids Art Museum and Millennium Park: Chicago.

brian@burchpartners.com

Erin Cataldo

Public Relations

Erin takes PR seriously. She gets Market news out there with determination and creativity.

erin@burchpartners.com

OUR FACILITIES TEAM

Our porters do the hard work of keeping the Market clean and preparing our spaces for private events and Market activities.

Mike Devries

Director of Facilities

Mike keeps this machine running. From heating to electrical to waste management, he makes sure all parts are well oiled and ready for happy Market visitors.

mike@downtownmarketgr.com

Blake Flikkema

Facilities Manager

Blake works with Mike and the team to assist in all the various facilities needs within this impressive building. When it comes to maintenance and upkeep, he definitely knows his stuff!

blake@downtownmarketgr.com

Justin Cooper

Sustainability Coordinator

Justin is involved in maintenance projects, implementing recycling programs, and truck dock coordination. His true passion lies in sustainability practices, so he is a perfect fit for our Gold LEED Certified facility!

justin@downtownmarketgr.com

Karen McFeely

Porter

Everett Van Allsburg

Porter

Wanda Bluntson

Porter

Danielle Rosales

Porter